D Day

Three days. Actually less. In less than 72 hours, I will sit in a courtroom surrounded by strangers. I will state my name, my salary, my state of health. Simple yeses to complicated questions. An agreement that lays claim to the next five years of my life. And then…I’m left. Swim or sink. Numb and hollow walking down the halls of work, driving down well known streets, brushing my teeth, and lying there. Unable to sleep.

“The way to be strong in any relationship I think is to just look at yourself and the other person honestly. The hardest most strong thing any two people can do.” B.C.K.

This is what I did….it led me here.

With my weakened body and mind, stepping forward into what feels like a dark cave at times, I anticipate. Divorce. It’s everything I am not. But hope and peace are…me.

2 thoughts on “D Day

  1. Mother of Teenagers says:

    I have been through a tough divorce and it I remember it being a very miserable experience but the end product of peace and calm was worth every agonising step. Have faith. It also will get better. My relationship with my ex is that of good friends and I would not have said that would be possible 14 years ago.

Leave a Reply

