To Keep Safe….

And yet another post inspired by “The Prompt.” This week was “care.

Is it okay if this post is a bit selfish? Did you know a synonym for care is “to keep safe.” Let me begin by saying, I truly care about many things. The first of which, of course, are my boys. I care about the whole of them. Their being, their soul. I care about my dog, my family, my friends. I care about the children I work with and try so hard to create a special place in their hearts that is solely positive energy, however small that may be. As a human being, I care. As I drive by a homeless person on the streets, read stories of those less fortunate, listen to truly heart-wrenching life experiences, I care. But it’s overwhelming. Because I want it all to be better. I do the obvious – donate clothes or food or toys. I’ve adopted families at Christmas time. And I have chosen to persevere at a job that emotionally takes it toll – because I told myself if I could make a difference in just one child’s life, then it will be worth it. Who am I to say I can’t handle the emotionality of the job, when these children have lived it. They carry it with them everyday. And so yes, I care.

Here comes the selfish part…..

But is it okay to want someone to care about me? To think of me. To have a space in the corner of their minds and their hearts, for me. To always remember, never forget. To keep safe.

8 thoughts on “To Keep Safe….

  1. Pempi says:

    I think I have a very similar point of view and as a teacher “care” is the foundation of education. Children need to be in a safe environment to learn and they need to know you “care” and in return I think they do remember and will carry with them your presence and reciprocity that as you cared for them they cared about you 🙂 I don’t think this is selfish – we don’t “care” just to receive care back in return – we care because we couldn’t do it any other way and this is n our nature and we hope by doing so we teach them to care for others too and so make the word a better place and provide a better future for them – what goes around comes around 🙂
    Lovely to meet through “The Prompt” – Special Teaching at Pempi’s Palace

  2. Sara (@mumturnedmom) says:

    I don’t think it’s selfish, we all need to feel that someone cares for us. And, I suspect that it’s that need that drives the empathy we have when we see others that need our care. Thank you so much for sharing this thoughtful post with #ThePrompt x

    • butterboop22 says:

      Thanks Sara for your perspective…I think you are right….empathy may just be driven from that need as well. Have a great day! And thanks for “The Prompt.” 🙂

  3. maddy@writingbubble says:

    I don’t think it’s selfish at all – not remotely! It’s human – we need to love and be loved. You are obviously a caring person and it shines out of this post. You deserve that care in return. x #theprompt

Leave a Reply

