Proud

I had just been telling a friend I wish I could fast forward in time to see my boys in a good place. And to hear them say “Thank You Mom.” To have them be in a place, at a maturity level, where they truly understand and can look at me all-knowing and say “Thank You.” Then I feel like I could be a little less unsure of myself as a parent for I would already know they get it, they are grateful. Does that make sense? I obviously can not travel forward in time, so I proceed cautiously fully understanding that as a mom I will not be perfect, I will make mistakes. But…there are those moments in time. Those moments when my children do or say something. And in those moments, I am that much more proud, for I see how wonderful they both are becoming. Sometimes it’s in the simplest of acts. For example, when I see my 15 year old approach a door, step aside, and hold it open for a person. (It has amazed me how this tiny act of kindness has seemed to be lost in many). Yes, this a moment when I am proud. He also told me last week he convinced his Biology teacher to place him in Honors Chemistry next year. This was all his own doing, I had no idea. He is being proactive, vocal, persistent about his academics. Yes, this is a moment when I am proud. My 10 year old was presented the Sportsmanship Award two weeks ago at hockey. The team parents vocalized what a great kid he is, always with manners, always supporting the team. When they lost the championship, he was not crying…he was the one telling his teammates they did a good job, tapping them on their backs. Yes, this is a moment when I am proud.
If I remain present, it’s apparent I don’t need to travel through time in order to see that my boys “get it.” They are showing me all the time they do. They get it. How lucky am I?

One thought on “Proud

Leave a Reply

