For Better, For Worse

I was always a staunch believer in “For Better, For Worse.” Until one day I realized the “For Worse” was not healthy for my family. I wondered yesterday why it’s acceptable to stay in a marriage simply “for the kids.” When unhappiness, resentment, really any negative feelings continue, how is this “for the kids?” I have been separated for two years now. I still try to create healthy, memorable times for my children that include both their mother and father. I’m working so hard to model positive behavior. To send a message that yes, your parents were not able to continue their marriage, but that does not equate to unhappiness, resentment, anger. Should they not have a model of how to work through a challenging situation in a positive, constructive manner? Even if it means going against the grain? Even if it means it will be a more challenging path to follow? I’m trying to emulate a life long lesson. A lesson in love, in compassion, in collaboration, in respect. Have I faltered along the way? Yes. But I continue to march forward. I have chosen to not stay married for the kids and for the family as a whole. It reminds me of one of my favorite quotes….

“Two roads diverged in a wood and I – I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.”
Robert Frost

Leave a Reply

