The Irony

It’s in a way comical. As I become more clear, as clarity seeps into my vision, my actual vision is getting worse! My friends tell me it’s all part of the “aging process.” Not exactly what I want to hear! I remember my father telling me when I was a little girl how you are as old as you feel. I didn’t think much of that statement at the time. I could not relate to it at all. Now I completely understand. Despite the “aging process” happening to me, I don’t feel older. In fact, I believe I am in the best shape of my life. But I do look at pictures and see the years under my eyes. With that, I am grateful I have come to a place that feels like an awakening long before I hopefully am due to leave this world. I have much life to live. And countless days to work on being a mom I am proud of, one my boys are proud of. Maybe there’s no irony at all. Maybe things are just as they should be. 

Leave a Reply

